Happy Summer!

10464207_512618618837658_4145435294459060902_n

Happy Summer to everyone! I just spent a lovely 2-day offsite at the Skamania Lodge in Washington (which included zip lining with my workmates) and now I am taking a stay-cation for the next 2 weeks with a nice long lists of things I hope to work on and get out and see here in the Portland-area. One of the things I worked on last weekend was this full moon inspired quilt block. It’s my birthday week, and as the sign of the moon, and a triple cancer (sun sign, rising sign and moon sign in Cancer) I feel the full moons potently! I had this idea in my mind for a while, and finally had to make it. Although I have 3 other quilts in progress at the moment, I had to work this out! I cut into some indigo shibori fabric I hand-dyed a while back, and used a drunkards path template and some coordinating white and navy cotton. I am thinking of piecing these in a very minimal quilt design, with an either all white or linen background. I actually love sewing curves, I find it gentler than trying to match up points, because mainly, you just have to take it slow! And I found by creating larger curved pieces, it is easier. I wanted to share some images from my time at the Skamania Lodge, if you get a chance, I highly recommend stopping in, it’s a pretty stop along our beautiful Columbia River Gorge. Oregon is just so beautiful, as a native, I am still in awe of the lush surroundings and so thankful to live here!

2 thoughts on “Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

