Reading & Watching lately…

I love to hear what people like to read and watch, I am always on the look out to satisfy my voracious appetite for books & movies that inspire! Here is a sample of what I’ve been reading & watching lately, all highly recommended! I’ve written a sentence or two below on my thoughts, I hope you find some inspiration as well!

1. How to Catch a Frog by Heather Ross – I picked this up from her book signing at Powells in Portland, it’s a great summer read! She was a child of the 1970’s to eccentric parents (as am I) as well as a creative entrepreneaur, and great storyteller!

2. Finding Vivian Maier directed by Charles SiskelJohn Maloof– I watched this amazing documentary here in Portland, and have thought about it a lot since then. It is well done, thought-provoking, and a really amazing testament about being prolific, making work everyday, regardless of anyone knowing about it.

3. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou – I had to reread this again following her passing. She was a great woman, a phenomenal storyteller, an inspiration. I listened to this as an audiobook on my daily commute and found myself laughing and crying on any given day. Powerful!

4. Living Well is the Best Revenge by Calvin Tomkins – I picked up this book at LACMA and devoured it on the plane ride home. American expats in Europe in the 1920’s… a great quick read!

5. A La Mere De Famille by Julian Merceron – Continuing my obsession with making unique chocolates, I picked up this book at Powells here in Portland, part for it’s amazing photography and beautiful design, and part for the recipes! Founded in 1761 as a family-run store, A la Mere de Famille has since become one of Paris’s most loved and treasured sweet shops with several stores now operating throughout the French capital. 

6. The Wisdom of Psychopaths by Kevin Dutton – I am fascinated by psychology. I practically double-majored in it in college, and had two paths to potentially follow: art or psychology. Art won! But I still enjoy learning about this field. This book was pretty amazing, delving into the scale of madness we all sit on. I learned a lot!

Leave a Reply

